Thursday, July 7, 2022
HomeBlogTanzanian Abdulrazak Gurnah awarded Nobel literature prize

Tanzanian Abdulrazak Gurnah awarded Nobel literature prize

Stockholm: The Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurna.

The Swedish Academy said the award was given in recognition of “his uncompromising and compassionate penetration into the effects of colonialism.”

Born in Zanzibar, Gurna is a professor at the University of Kent in England. His novel “Paradise” was shortlisted for the 1994 Booker Prize.

The Swedish Institute is his

The Swedish Institute highly highlighted his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration into the effects of colonialism.”loan:AP

The award carries a gold medal and a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (AUD 1.56 million).

Last year’s prize went to American poet Louis Glock, who was described by the judges as “an obscene poetic and voice who universalizes the existence of a person with unparalleled beauty.”

The Nobel Committee on Monday presented the prize for physiology or medicine to Americans David Julius and Ardham Pataputiyan for discovering how human body temperature and touch feel.


The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on Tuesday to three scientists with a confusing appearance who helped explain and predict the forces of complex nature, including expanding our understanding of climate change.

Benjamin List and David WC Macmillan were named Nobel Laureates in Chemistry on Wednesday for their search for an easy and environmentally friendly way to make molecules that can be used to make compounds, including medicines and pesticides.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments